Tennessee County
Highway Officials


Eddie Simpson, Loudon County

1st Vice President
Gary "Jip" Lofton, Obion County

2nd Vice President
Sandra Knight, Bradley County

3rd Vice President
Van Boshers
, Maury County

Jeff Headricks, Blount County

TCSA Officer
Dwight Van de Vate
, Knox County

Region I President
David Cox, Union County

Region II President
James Norrod, Overton County

Region III President
Greg Brooks, Rutherford County

Region IV President
Bart Walls, Madison County

Past President
Ronald Coates, Hickman County


J. Rodney Carmical

What We Do

The Tennessee County Highway Officials Association was officially organized in 1987. Executive Director J. Rodney Carmical is committed to providing the highest level of professionalism in representing all highway departments in the state. Rodney has an extensive background in county government and service to county officials. He received his BS degree from Austin Peay State University in 1968 and worked for a decade in the state Comptroller's Office and the state Department of Education. During that period he also served as the city recorder in Lobelville and as a county commissioner in Perry County. Rodney received the professional designation of Certified Government Financial Manager from the National Association of Governmental Accountants.

Prior to being named as the Executive Director of TCHOA in 2002, Rodney served as the executive director of The University of Tennessee's County Technical Assistance Service (CTAS). He retired from CTAS after 23 years of service to county officials. During his tenure with UT, he was twice awarded the University's "Outstanding Public Service Professional" award and was recognized by the University with a vice-presidential citation for innovation in "Rethinking Customer Service".

Rodney continues his service to county officials today and works closely with CTAS in providing legal, financial, and technical assistance to county highway departments in Tennessee.

To visit the TCHOA website, CLICK HERE.

Contact TCHOA

226 Capitol Blvd., Suite 700
Nashville, TN 37219
Phone (615) 532-3767
Fax (615) 532-3769

J. Rodney Carmical, Executive Director